Databases
Access HDSB's information databases, anytime, anywhere. If needed, login with your HDSB Network Username and Password
An excellent cross-curricular research database of more than 5,900+ magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It also includes more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press Updated from 1930 to the present. Suitable for Grades 8+!
Designed to assist in understanding a full scope of controversial subjects from a uniquely Canadian perspective. Students can use CPOV as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Suitable for Grades 7+!
Specifically designed for school libraries in Canada, this database offers a full-text collection of regional and international periodicals, newspapers, and newswires. It also includes thousands of images from the Canadian Press. Suitable for Grades 7+!
(Open Access) A bilingual, national online encyclopedia produced by, for, and about the people of Canada, charting its events, culture, history and landscape. Suitable for Grades 4+!
Use this interface to cross-search EBSCOHost databases such as Academic Search Premier, Canadian Reference Source, Newspaper Source, and Canadian Points of View Reference Source. Please note that this interface doesn't include all the unique features of each database. If you require full functionality, please use the links to each individual database.
An excellent encyclopedia with areas devoted to Canadian content. Easy-to-understand results include not just text, but images, primary resources and multimedia files. Suitable for all Grades!
LaunchPacks offers teachers and students access to high-quality, diverse content sets. The content relates to a specific topic and offers curriculum-aligned instruction in a given grade range. Suitable for all Grades!
With thorough curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health and much more, Teen Health & Wellness is an instant, online support network students and teachers can always turn to. Suitable for Grades 7+!
This collection of consumer health information provides access to 70 + full-text consumer health magazines along with searchable full-text for current health pamphlets.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full-text for 520+ national, international, and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
This highly specialized database of full-text content is curated especially for educators, library staff, and education researchers. It includes 457 journals, 278 peer-reviewed, publications. and 229 educational reports.
Use this interface to cross-search EBSCOHost databases such as Middle Search Plus, Middle Search Plus eBook Collection, Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Topic Search, and Topic Overviews.
(Open Access) Explore all digitized items held by Toronto Public Library, including over 100,000 historical photos, maps, postcards & more from Ontario. Suitable for Grades 4+!
(Open Access) This French database lets users explore all digitized items held by Toronto Public Library, including over 100,000 historical photos, maps, postcards, and more from Ontario. Suitable for Grades 4+!
(Open Access) Access local historical information from the Historical Societies of Burlington, Esquesing, Milton, and the Halton-Peel Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society. Suitable for Grades 7+!
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive reader's advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction books. It uses an intuitive interface to help readers answer the question: What should I read next? Suitable for Grades 7+!
(Open Access) A state-of-the-art discovery portal which can search across hundreds of sites in seconds. OurOntario.ca makes it easy to find audio, video, text, government documents, images, and collections about Ontario, or from an Ontario organization. Suitable for Grades 4+!
(Open Access) Use this simple interface to access a growing collection of open access journals, books, images, and media. Suitable for Grades 7+!
World News Digest serves as an archival record of domestic and international news and covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. Suitable for Grades 8+!
This French database provides access to more than 38,000 articles, including current issues and trends, 25,000+ media items, a world atlas with over 1400 maps, an integrated dictionary with 122,000+ entries, and a guide to selected Web sites. Suitable for Grades 9-12!